News - Thesis announce

Date : April 29, 2021, 2 p.m. - KAROUI Mouna - Visio-conférence

Congestion mitigation and network selection management in a heterogeneous C-ITS communication architecture
With the massive growth of road users (e.g. cars, bicycles, autonomous vehicles and pedestrians), optimal mobility management is becoming a crucial concern for industrial and academic stakeholders. Some studies and statistics have shown that most road accidents are due to human error, and 60\% of these accidents can be avoided if the driver is warned of the danger at least 0.5 second before the accident. The automotive industry and academia cooperatively work to develop innovative solutions such as Cooperative Intelligent Transportation Systems (C-ITS) to improve traffic management and road safety. 
Reliable communication techniques are needed to meet the requirements of different C-ITS. This thesis focused on the study of communication technologies, namely IEEE 802.11p/ITS-G5 and LTE-V2X. To take advantage of the coexistence of several radio access technologies, heterogeneous network architectures are adopted to meet the requirements of low latency and high reliability.  In recent years,  heterogeneous network architectures have been the subject of many studies showing their advantages.  However, implementation challenges and issues related to the efficiency of decision-making algorithms remain among the problems that have not been fully resolved. 
In this thesis, we address the problems related to the efficiency of communication techniques dedicated to C-ITS. We first propose a study of a C-ITS service called GLOSA (Green Light Optimal Speed Advisory) for the sake of evaluating the capability of ITS-G5 technology in supporting such real-time service. We then address the congestion problem of the IEEE 802.11p/ITS-G5 standard. Next, we study network selection management of a radio access technology under a heterogeneous network architecture mainly composed of nodes supporting both network interfaces: LTE-V2X and IEEE 802.11p/ITS-G5.
Jury :

Nadjia Kara, Professeure à l'ÉTS, Université du Québec                                                                 Rapportrice
Hacène Fouchal, Professeur à l'Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne                              Rapporteur
Marion Berbineau, HDR,  Directrice de recherche à l'Université Gustave Eiffel                           Examinatrice
Hasnaa Aniss, Ingénieure de recherche à  l'Université Gustave Eiffel                                          Examinatrice
Mohamed Kassab, Maitre de conférence à l'Université de Monastir                                              Examinateur
Gérard Chalhoub, HDR, Maitre de conférence à l'Université de Clermont-Ferrand, LIMOS      Directeur de thèse
Antonio Freitas, Maitre de conférence à l'Université de Clermont-Ferrand, LIMOS                      Invité